KCU Commemorates First Basketball Double National Titles

2.21.2014 | Kentucky Christian University -- Grayson, KY

The 1988-89 Kentucky Christian College (now University) Basketball teams were remembered at the 2014 Winter Homecoming basketball game held on Friday evening. In 1988, the Knight basketball team had won the first of 6 National Christian College Athletic Association national championship in the history of the school. In 1989, the men repeated the feat, and the women's team proved equal to the task as well, winning the first of 15 NCCAA-II Women's Basketball titles. Several of the players and staff from that monumental year were present, and were recognized at half-time of the basketball game.

Players and team personnel for the Women's Basketball team include: Jane Anderkin Piatt, Lori Hann Augustus, Natalie Grimes Flohr, Sharon Watt Freeman, Alice Parsons, Chris Tummel Dangelo, Lynn Manges Tolley, Erin Fitzpatric, Amie Arnett Walker, Lisa Roche Weist, Kim Freholm Dye, Kim Freholm Dye, Missie James Lowe, Head Coach Tom Bender, Assistant Coach Doug Piatt, Manager/Trainer Cassandre Stover Griffin, Statistician Elizabeth Martin Daniels, and Scorekeeper Shelly Pinkerton.

The Men's Basketball Team and team personnel are: Eric Augustus, Kirk Ries, Rodney Persinger, Kelly Combs, Eric Sudlow, Bill Frazier, Jeff Kinney, Heath Sherman, Kevin Hart, Bart Snyder, Paul Milton, Imre Gulyas, Scott Vickers,
Head Coach Randy Kirk, Assistant Coach Tom Bender, Assistant Coach Denny Ferguson, Manager Doug Martin, Statistician Conni Hill Andrews, Scorekeeper Melissa Camp Hering, and Athletic Director – Randy Kirk. The honorees were met at half-court by KCU President Jeff Metcalf and Athletic Director Bruce Dixon.

The night had gotten off to a rousing start when four of the 2014 Lady Knight players were recognized on their Senior Night. Sharonda Jones, Monica Stevens, Jessica Marshall, and Tanya Bowens' careers were celebrated. Then the KCU Senior Class took over and offered their Winter Homecoming ceremony, with Jessica Marshall and Tim Jones being crowned Queen and King.