25th Anniversary of First National Championship

2.18.2013 | Grayson, KY

On Friday evening, Kentucky Christian University remembered the pioneers of the school’s incredible sports success. Twenty-five years ago, the 1987-88 Men’s Basketball Team won the first of many NCCAA National Championships on the hard court. Since this first win nearly 25 years ago, KCU has garnered a total of 7 Men’s Championships and 16 Women’s National Titles.

Only about half of the team was able to return, but they enjoyed an evening of memories, a few minutes of adulation and admiration in front of the crowd, and an often-expressed appreciation for the talent and athleticism of the current KCU basketball teams.

The 1988 NCCAA National Champion Team was comprised of: Eric Augustus, Jeff Clark, Denny Ferguson, Kevin Hart, Jeff Kinney, Todd Layne, Rodney Persinger, Doug Piatt, Heath Sherman, Ricky Stone, Mike Talbott, Greg Wallace, Craig Yates, Trainer Jim Matthews, Manager Doug Martin, Assistant Coach Don Conley, and Head Coach Randy Kirk.